T20 World Cup Winners List

Eighth edition of the T20 World Cup 2022 will take place in Australia.

The T20 World Cup 2022 is around the corner. The marquee event is less than one month away now. It will take place in Australia from 16th October to 13th November. All the teams have named their squad for the global event and will be reaching down under in a few days’ time. As the excitement for the ICC event builds up, let’s take a look at the T20 World Cup Winners List

T20 World Cup Winners List 

The inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup took place in 2007 in South Africa and it was won by Indian Cricket Team. The ‘Men in Blue’ under the leadership of MS Dhoni defeated arch-rivals Pakistan to etch their name in the history books. The tournament then took place in England in 2009 and it saw Pakistan winning the title by defeating Sri Lanka in the summit clash.

The 2010 edition of the T20 World Cup took place in West Indies and it was won by England Cricket Team. They thumped Australia in the final to clinch their maiden title. In 2012, West Indies under the leadership of Darren Sammy pounded Sri Lanka in the final to claim the cup, that took place in Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka in 2014 was crowned champions after they thrashed India in the final. The event took place in Bangladesh that year. In 2016, West Indies created history and claimed their second T20 World Cup title when they pounded England in the final of the tournament, which happened in India.

The seventh edition of the event took place in UAE in the year 2021, which saw Australia defeating New Zealand in the final and claiming their first-ever T20 title. The 2022 edition of the tournament is slated to take place in Australia and it remains to be seen who will emerge victorious.

T20 World Cup Winners List 

S. No Winner Runner up Host Year
1. India Pakistan South Africa  2007
2. Pakistan Sri Lanka England  2009
3. England Australia West Indies  2010
4. West Indies Sri Lanka Sri Lanka  2012
5. Sri Lanka India Bangladesh  2014
6. West Indies England India  2016
7. Australia New Zealand UAE and Oman  2021
8. TBD TBD Australia  2022

Back to top button