How many times India has won T20 World Cup?

India will feature in 7th edition of the T20 World Cup in Australia next month.

Indian Cricket Team is currently preparing itself for the T20 World Cup 2022, which will be played in Australia from 16th October to 13th November. The Men in Blue have named their squad for the event and will be playing Australia and South Africa at home in their build-up to the marquee event.

How many times India has won the T20 World Cup? 

Team India has won T20 World Cup only once in the six editions that have taken place so far. They clinched the title in the inaugural edition in 2007 under the leadership of MS Dhoni and since then they have had poor outings in the tournament.

In 2009, 2010 & 2012, they had a horrendous campaign as they suffered three successful super 8s exits and invited a lot of criticism to their name. However, after that, they played sensationally in the next two editions but failed to win the title.

In 2014, India played the sensational brand of cricket to reach the finals but they lost to Sri Lanka in the summit clash, thus ending their hopes to win the second title. They were on the top of the game again in 2016, but this time it was West Indies, who knocked them over from the event in the semi-final.

Among all the editions, T20 World Cup 2021 was the worst for them as they were out of the tournament in the group stage after suffering two successive defeats against Pakistan and New Zealand.

The upcoming 2022 edition of the tournament would hold extreme importance for them, considering that they haven’t won any ICC trophies since 2013. They would be looking to give their everything and would be eyeing the cup to break their jinx of winning the ICC Trophy.

Indian Cricket Team squad for the T20 World Cup 2022

Indian Cricket Team recently announced their squad for the T20 World Cup 2022. They will begin their campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on 23rd October. They have named pretty balanced side and it is now up to the players to execute their plans well on the field.

Here’s the Indian squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup. 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

Standbys: Mohammad Shami, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar

Back to top button