When and where to watch the Ashes 2023 in India

The Ashes 2023 is on the horizon and you should prepare yourself for the upcoming war

Ashes 2023: The Ashes is one of the most fiercely contested cricket tournaments in the world, pitting two of the oldest and most respected cricketing nations against each other – Australia and England. The 2023 Ashes promises to be a thrilling spectacle, with some of the biggest names in the game set to take the field.

For Indian cricket fans, the Ashes is an opportunity to witness some of the finest cricketing talents in action. Whether you’re a die-hard cricket fan or just a casual observer, this ultimate guide will provide you, an Indian cricket fan, with everything you need to know to make the most of this exciting tournament.

Fixtures and the full schedule of Ashes 2023

The series is set to kick off at Edgbaston, the favoured venue of the England team, despite suffering a defeat to the Australian team in 2019, thus breaking their “fortress” at home. The itinerary consists of two Test matches scheduled to be held in London at Lord’s and the Oval, with the other two matches taking place in Headingley and Old Trafford, symbolized by the white rose and the red. Interestingly, Trent Bridge is once again left out, mirroring the pattern from four years ago.

Here is the schedule for the five matches:

  • First Test, Edgbaston, Birmingham, June 16-20
  • Second Test, Lord’s, London, June 28-July 2
  • Third Test, Headingley, Leeds, July 6-10
  • Fourth Test, Old Trafford, Manchester, July 19-23
  • Fifth Test, The Oval, London, July 27-31

What time does each Test match start?

The schedule for all five Test matches categorizes them as “day” matches, which commence at 3.30 IST. Every day’s play is planned to conclude by 10.30 IST, however, if there are no interruptions, it may be extended to 11 IST to enable the completion of 90 overs. At 5.30 p.m., there will be a 40-minute intermission for lunch, followed by a 20-minute tea break at 8.10 p.m.

England Team News

Ben Stokes (captain), Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Ollie Pope, Joe Root, Harry Brook, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Foakes, Ollie Robinson, Matthew Potts, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Jack Leach, Rehan Ahmed, Mark Wood and hopefully bolstered by the longed-for returns of Jofra Archer, Olly Stone, Saqib Mahmood plus possibly, at home, Chris Woakes.

Australia Team News

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

How to watch it?

Sony Pictures Networks India (SPN) will stream all five matches live on their premium OTT service, SonyLIV, with exclusive broadcasting rights.

Recent History of the Ashes

England has had a remarkable history with the Ashes tournament, winning it back in 2005 and 2009 by margins of 2-1, then retaining it in 2013 with a 3-0 victory. In 2015, they regained it with a 3-2 win, while four years ago, they managed to tie the series 2-2, yet failed to retrieve the urn from the holders. England’s first Ashes tournament of the 21st century ended in defeat, scoring 4-1 on Steve Waugh’s final tour.

The 2023 Ashes promises to be an unforgettable tournament, with some of the world’s best cricketing talent set to take the field. For Indian cricket fans, this is an opportunity to witness history in the making. With our ultimate guide, you will have everything you need to make the most of this exciting tournament. So, sit back, relax, and get ready to enjoy some top-class cricketing action!

Back to top button