News

IPL 2020: Jimmy Neesham and Aakash Chopra go after each other in a battle of words

Twitter recently saw a spat between cricket analyst Aakash Chopra and Kiwi all-rounder, Jimmy Neesham who went toe-to-toe with each other over the micro-blogging site called Twitter.

The incendiary situation sparked itself when Chopra censured Jimmy Neesham’s appearance for Kings XI Punjab as they held back the universe boss, Chris Gayle to play him. However, Mumbai Indians tamed the Kiwi star after Pollard and Pandya took him out for 52 runs from 4 overs.

Punjab slumped to their second defeat in the tournament and Rahul was heavily questioned for his tactics after repeatedly using Neesham who hasn’t delivered something concrete yet and offering Krishnappa Gowtham as a sacrifice in front of a famished Pollard.

What exactly happened?

However, this issue of Rahul facing the heat wasn’t really sorted out after Aakash Chopra dug out an unnerving fact about Neesham. He quoted in a Youtube video, “They play Neesham, an overseas fast bowler, who neither bowls in the powerplay nor in the death overs. He is neither a great finisher nor a big batsman who bats in the top four or five. So why is Kings XI Punjab playing him? You are playing a player who is not really a match-winner.”

It seemed that Neesham was not ready to take this easily as he retaliated in a sarcastic way, quoting, “Averaging 18.5 striking at 90 doesn’t win many matches either.”

He was pointing out to the woeful statistics that Chopra had borne while playing for KKR in the first two seasons. Chopra chose to reply the Kiwi all-rounder instantly as he quoted, “Correct my friend. That’s why nobody picks me anymore. I get paid for doing something else. I’m glad that you don’t have an issue with my observations but with my cricket stats. Go well for the rest of the #IPL.

Chopra has hogged considerable limelight after he questioned ICC’s norm of a review. He cited, “Pollard and #MI denied a single. LBW given. Reviewed. Inside edge confirmed. But the easy run they took won’t count. Dear @ICC, this might cost someone the World Cup someday. Need a rethink. Umpires will have to reserve their decision until the ball is dead. #MIvsKXIP”

The law that covers this question states, “while benefiting from the reversal of the dismissal, shall not benefit from any runs that may subsequently have accrued from the delivery had the on-field umpire originally made a not-out decision, other than any no-ball penalty”.

Related Articles

Back to top button