ICC announces team of the tournament for T20 World Cup 2022, two Indian and two Pakistani players included

England won the T20 World Cup 2022 title yesterday by beating Pakistan in the final

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced their team of the tournament at the conclusion of the T20 World Cup 2022 and only two Indian players have been able to find a place in the XI.

Virat Kohli, who was the highest run scorer of the T20 World Cup 2022, and Suryakumar Yadav, who had the highest strike rate among all the batsmen who scored more than 200 runs in the tournament, are the two Indian players in ICC’s team of the tournament for T20 World Cup 2022.

Another Indian player, who could have been a contender to find a place in ICC’s XI, was Arshdeep Singh as he was in the top 5 in the list of leading wicket-takers in the super 12 round, but rather than Arshdeep, ICC went with Shaheen Afridi, who after struggling for the first couple of games, took 10 wickets in his next 4 games.

Sam Curran, who was also named the player of the tournament, was another left-armer in ICC’s XI along with two of the fastest bowlers of the tournament, Anrich Nortje, and Mark Wood.

Hardik Pandya is the 12th man in ICC’s team of the tournament for the T20 World Cup 2022

As far as batting is concerned, apart from Virat and Suryakumar occupying the third and the fourth slot, the opening slots in ICC’s XI are occupied by two of the England openers, Jos Buttler and Alex Hales, while Glenn Phillips, who was one of the only two centurions in the tournament, has been slotted at no. 5.

Another Indian who features in the team in the tournament is Hardik Pandya, but he has been named the 12th man and he is not a part of the XI. Hardik put on two great performances in this T20 World Cup, one against Pakistan with both bat and ball and then in the semi-final against England where he scored 63 runs off just 33 balls.


I write a bit on cricket and I am more interested in technical and tactical side of the game, rather than bravado.
Back to top button