BCCI president Sourav Ganguly decides not to participate in Legends League Cricket (LLC) citing professional commitments

Sourav Ganguly had to captain Indian Maharajas against World Giants in an exhibition game of Legends League Cricket

The BCCI president Sourav Ganguly, who was earlier named in the Indian Maharajas squad for an exhibition game of Legends League Cricket (LLC), has decided not to take part in LLC anymore because of his professional commitments.

The Legends League Cricket will have four teams – Gujarat Giants, Manipal Tigers, Indian Capitals, and Bhilwara Kings, but before the league gets underway, an exhibition match has been scheduled between Indian Maharajas and World Giants. While the Maharajas were going to lead by Sourav Ganguly, the World Giants had to play under the captaincy of Eoin Morgan.

But, Ganguly recently sent a letter to the LLC governing committee and let them know that because of his immense workload related to cricket administration, he wouldn’t be able to participate in the league as he had promised earlier.

Since the time it had emerged that Sourav Ganguly would be playing in Legends League Cricket, there were voices of concern that it would be a conflict of interest for him to play in the tournament, as he is in charge of the BCCI which doesn’t recognize the league.

Since it was only an exhibition game of the league, Ganguly had agreed to play. However earlier today, the former Indian captain announced his withdrawal from the league. The venue for the exhibition game of LLC would still be Eden Gardens and Ganguly is expected to be present during the game as a dignitary.

Captains of the four teams of Legends League Cricket (LLC) have been named

Meanwhile, the names of the captains have been announced for the four teams of Legends League Cricket. While Gautam Gambhir has been given the captaincy of India Capitals, the Gujarat Giants will play under Virender Sehwag, their long-time opening partner of Gambhir.

The other two teams in the league, Manipal Tigers and Bhilwara Kings, will be led by Harbhajan Singh and Irfan Pathan respectively.


I write a bit on cricket and I am more interested in technical and tactical side of the game, rather than bravado.
Back to top button