CricketFeatureIPLIPL Records

4 IPL teams to register most ten-wicket victories

Considering how competitive IPL is, you don’t get to see many one-sided contests these days. But in 841 matches, a one-sided game here and there is unavoidable. Interestingly in some of these one-sided contests, IPL franchises have crushed their opponents by registering ten-wicket victories over them. Such wins are extremely rare, which is why they make a valuable record to hold. So, let’s introduce you to the teams who have registered the most ten-wicket victories in the 14 years of IPL.

#4 Sunrisers Hyderabad – 2:

Sunrisers Hyderabad has two ten-wicket victories in their name. Their first ten-wicket triumph came in IPL 2016, in the 15th match against Gujarat Lions. Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s four wickets and Mustafizur Rahman’s spell restricted GL to 135/8. Apart from Suresh Raina, no other GL batsman had answers to SRH’s bowling lineup. David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan chased this total with 31 balls remaining.

SRH registered their second ten-wicket win against Mumbai Indians in the final league match of IPL 2020. Again a collective bowling performance from Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Jason Holder, and Rashid Khan restricted MI to 149/8. And Warner did a Warner by smashing a quick unbeaten 85 from 58 balls. With the support of Saha’s 58 from the other end, Warner guided SRH to a ten-wicket victory with 17 balls to spare.

#3 Chennai Super Kings – 2:

Chennai Super Kings also have two ten-wicket victories in their name. Both of them came against Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings). They registered their first ten-wicket win back in 2013 in the 11th match of the season. Bowling first, a good bowling display from CSK bowlers restricted KXIP to just 138. In reply, Mike Hussey and Murali Vijays’ unbeaten half-centuries helped CSK to a ten-wicket win with 16 balls to spare.

A ruthless batting display from Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson guided CSK to their second ten-wicket victory against KXIP in the 18th match of IPL 2020. Faf’s unbeaten 87 off 53 balls and Watson’s unbeaten 83 off 53 balls helped CSK chase a mammoth total of 179 with 14 balls remaining. 

#2 Mumbai Indians – 2:

Like the preceding two in the list, the five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians have also registered two ten-wicket victories in the IPL history. Their first among them came against Rajasthan Royals in 2012. Batting first, RR put 162/6 on the board, which Mumbai Indians chased with 12 balls to spare. Sachin Tendulkar‘s unbeaten 58 off 51 balls and Dwayne Smith’s unbeaten 87 off 58 balls guided MI to this victory.

They recorded their second ten-wicket win against Chennai Super Kings in the 41st match of IPL 2020. Trent Boult’s 4-wicket-haul and a couple of wickets from Bumrah and Rahul Chahar restricted CSK to 114/9. This total wasn’t much of a trouble for MI, as Ishan Kishan and Quinton De Kock completed the chase in just 12.2 overs.  

#1 Royal Challengers Bangalore – 4:

Royal Challengers Bangalore registered their first ten-wicket win over Rajasthan Royals back in 2010. It was the tenth match of the season, and RCB bowlers did a fantastic job by restricting the Royals to 92. Praveen Kumar and Anil Kumble picked three wickets each, while Kallis picked two, and the remaining two RR batsmen fell victims to run-outs. RCB openers Kallis and Manish Pandey effortlessly chased this total down in the 11th over.

Their second ten-wicket victory came against Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in 2015. Again an incredible bowling performance from RCB bowlers restricted Daredevils to 95, and RCB batting has rarely disappointed. Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli chased it in the 11th over without breaking much sweat.

RCB’s bowling unit again shined more than their batting in their third ten-wicket win over Kings XI Punjab in 2018. Three run-outs and a collective bowling effort restricted KXIP to 88. Kohli and Parthiv Patel chased this target in just 8.1 overs.

Finally, a ten-wicket victory in which their batting outshined the amazing work done by their bowlers on a batting-friendly wicket. Despite putting 177 on board, Rajasthan Royals failed to end the batting Master Class of Virat Kohli and young Devdutt Padikkal. Kohli’s unbeaten 72 and Padikkal’s maiden IPL century guided RCB to a ten-wicket win with 21 balls remaining.

Back to top button