Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma bags maiden international call-up as BCCI announces Indian squad for West Indies T20Is

BCCI announces new-look squad for T20Is against West Indies

Indian squad for West Indies T20Is: IPL 2023 played a key role in getting youngsters like Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma their maiden international call-ups as BCCI announced the squad for the upcoming T20Is against West Indies. In a series that will feature five swashbuckling battles, India wanted to test the rising youngsters after what was a rewarding IPL for both the southpaws.

Hardik Pandya has been announced as the skipper for the T20Is while Suryakumar Yadav will be his deputy in what is going to be a battle of two juggernauts in the shortest format of the game. Amongst the big names that couldn’t find their way into the squad, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja were the ones worth mentioning.

As the new selection panel of India came into effect, this was the first squad that was chosen by them and that brought into action the thought of going hard from ball one, a mindset successfully championed by Jaiswal and Varma.

However, just to ensure that India wasn’t missing out on proper back-ups in case if the youngsters fail to match the daunting efforts that may be pinned on them, India also added the likes of Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan to their squad.

As far as the bowling department goes, it is an entirely fresh squad except the likes of Yuzvendra Chahal who would be accompanied by Kuldeep Yadav in what was quite a formidable duo for India a handful of years ago.

Here is how the Indian squad for West Indies T20Is looks like:

Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Umran Malik, and Mukesh Kumar are the names that have been tasked with manning India’s pace mafia against the resonant hard-hitters of West Indies. Axar Patel, the hero of the last series that India played against West Indies in the latter’s den is also amongst the seniors who would be a part of the Indian squad.

India T20I squad: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (vice-capt), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (capt), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.

Back to top button