“It clearly seems like GT will defend their title this year” – Twitter reacts as GT defeat SRH to qualify for IPL 2023 playoffs

Gujarat Titans have been operating in collective rhythm this season and everything seems to be going well for them. Whatever they touch, it has turned gold for them this season and it’s no wonder why they are on top of the points table.

Having played 13 games so far, they have won as many as nine games and lost the remaining four games. Hardik Pandya-led Gujarat Titans have accumulated 18 points and are comfortably at the top of the table.

Moreover, they do have all their bases covered in the squad. Even if one fails, the other keeps delivering for the team and this has been the massive success formula for the Ahmedabad-based franchise.

They locked horns with Sunrisers Hyderabad in the home fixture at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Gujarat Titans went on to outfox the Sunrisers in the battle.

Gujarat Titans defeat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 34 runs

Batting first, Gujarat Titans posted 188/9 in their designated quota of 20 overs. Shubman Gill top-scored with 101 off 58 balls including 13 fours and a six. Sai Sudharsan delivered the goods by scoring 47 off 36 balls.

In response to GT’s target, Sunrisers Hyderabad lacked support from the top-order batters. The likes of Anmolpreet Singh, Aiden Markram and Abhishek Sharma were dismissed for cheap scores.

SRH’s wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen showed some resistance by scoring 64 off 44 balls. He smacked four fours followed by three sixes. On the other hand, Mohammed Shami and Mohit Sharma bowled pretty well for Gujarat Titans. Both the pacers took four wickets apiece. GT beat SRH by 34 runs and qualified for the playoffs.

Gujarat Titans’ playing XI: Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Sai Sudharsan, Hardik Pandya (c), David Miller, Dasun Shanaka, Rahul Tewatia, Mohit Sharma, Rashid Khan, Mohammed Shami, Noor Ahmad

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s playing XI: Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram (c), Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Sanvir Singh, Mayank Markande, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Fazalhaq Farooqi, T Natarajan

Back to top button