NewsT20 Cricket

BCCI announce squads for Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 starting from 4th November

After months of wait, BCCI have officially announced the third edition of the Women’s T20 Challenge. In 2018, the board organized a tri-series tournament for the female players during the IPL, and as the experiment proved to be a success, BCCI has planned another tourney for the women’s cricket stars in 2020.

Like the ongoing Indian Premier League season, the Women’s T20 Challenge will take place in the United Arab Emirates. Three teams namely – Trailblazers, Supernovas, and Velocity will compete at this event. The squads are out, and the captains of the respective teams are Harmanpreet Kaur (Supernovas), Smriti Mandhana (Trailblazers), and Mithali Raj (Velocity).

Thailand’s Natthakan Chantham will be the special attraction in this competition as she will become the first player from her country to participate in the Women’s T20 Challenge. Supernovas are the most successful team in the tournament’s history, with two title wins to their name in two seasons.

They defeated Trailblazers by three wickets in the 2018 season’s final, while last year, they beat the Velocity team by four wickets. It will be interesting to see if Supernovas can retain their title in the third season.

Schedule of Women’s T20 Challenge 2020

As mentioned ahead, the schedule and all details for the Women’s T20 Challenge is out. The first match will take place between two-time defending champions Supernovas and Velocity. The next match will be an afternoon affair between Velocity and Trailblazers.

After a one-day gap, Trailblazers will battle Supernovas in the last game. The final will take place on November 9th, one day before the IPL 2020 final. Since the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 will happen during the IPL playoffs, this event will gain a lot of traction from the fans.

The schedule for the Women’s T20 Challenge 2020 is as follows:

Match 1: November 4: Supernovas vs Velocity at 7.30 PM IST

Match 2: November 5: Velocity vs Trailblazers at 3.30 PM IST

Match 3: November 7: Trailblazers vs Supernovas at 7.30 PM IST

Final: November 9 at 7.30 PM IST

Back to top button