Australian Players Who Have Won Both CWC And IPL

The ICC 50-over Cricket World Cup and the Indian Premier League are the top events in international and domestic cricket, respectively. CWC holds a unique place for every cricketer. He/she aspires to be part of the event and win it at least once in their careers. On the other hand, in recent years, IPL has turned out to become a significant accomplishment for cricketers. A nation with a premium cricketing pedigree, Australia has players who have won both CWC and IPL.

In recent years, no team has been as dominant as the Australian Cricket Team. They have won four World Cups in the space of two decades. The Aussies have also been a vital part of IPL. Almost every franchise has had at least one Aussie in every season in the history of IPL. In this article, we take a look at the Australian players who have won both CWC and IPL.

Players who won both CWC 1999 and the IPL

Shane Warne, Darren Lehmann, Adam Gilchrist and Ricky Ponting

It was around the start of the period of dominance that Australia won the 1999 World Cup. The team comprised some of the heavyweights along with a few budding cricketers who later went on to dominate for a few more years.

Four cricketers from this list have also won the IPL. While Adam Gilchrist led Deccan Chargers to the title in 2009, Ricky Ponting was part of the Mumbai Indians squad that won the IPL. Darren Lehmann and Shane Warne won it in 2008 when they were part of the Rajasthan Royals franchise.

Players who won both CWC 2003 and the IPL

Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Mathew Hayden, Brett Lee, Darren Lehmann, and Andrew Symonds

The 2003 World Cup was held in South Africa. The Aussies were dominant throughout the competition and managed to defeat Team India easily in the final.

Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist and Darren Lehmann were yet again part of the World Cup-winning squad. The team also included Mathew Hayden, Andrew Symonds and Brett Lee. While Hayden won the IPL with CSK, Symonds and Lee won IPL when they were part of Deccan Chargers and KKR, respectively.

Players who won both CWC 2007 and the IPL

Ricky Ponting, Adam Gilchrist, Mathew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Andrew Symonds, and Shane Watson

It was a hat-trick of World Cup victories for Australia in 2007. The tournament was held in West Indies, and the Aussies defeated Sri Lanka in the summit clash.

Most of the squad members from 2003 were also there in this team. The new additions who have also won the IPL are Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson and Shane Watson. Hussey won it with CSK, Johnson became an IPL winner with Mumbai Indians, while Watson won it with both Rajasthan and CSK.

Players who won both CWC 2015 and the IPL

George Bailey, Pat Cummins, Aaron Finch, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, David Warner and Shane Watson

There was a break in the Aussie juggernaut when Team India won the CWC in 2011. In 2015, the Aussies yet again emerged as the winners. Michael Clarke was the captain of the squad.

This group consists of many players who have won both CWC and IPL. George Bailey won IPL as a CSK player before he was released. Aaron Finch, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell all won the IPL with Mumbai Indians, while David Warner got to hold the trophy as an SRH cricketer. Cummins won the IPL along with KKR.

Back to top button