IPL 2020: 5 players who have played for both CSK and Mumbai Indians

CSK and MI are two of the most successful teams in the IPL as they have shared 7 IPL titles among them in 12 seasons. Both of these teams have won a couple of Champions League titles as well. 

Whenever CSK and MI go head to head in the IPL, it’s like an El Clasico of cricket because these two teams have got such a massive fan following across the globe.

There have been a few players over the years who have had the opportunity of representing both MI and CSK in the IPL. Here are the 5 of them –

#1 Michael Hussey

After playing for CSK for 5 years and winning two IPL titles with the men in yellow, Hussey was signed by Mumbai Indians in 2014, but playing for Mumbai, Hussey couldn’t quite replicate the kind of success that he had achieved at CSK. 

Hussey played for MI for just a solitary season before he was released and he was, thereafter, roped in by CSK as the batting coach of the team. The former Aussie left-hander was a part of the CSK support staff in the last season of the IPL as well.

#2 Dwayne Smith

Dwayne Smith was equally fruitful playing for both MI and CSK. While he played 24 games for MI and scored 620 runs at an average of 31, he played 32 games for CSK and scored 965 runs at an average of 30.16.

However, one difference was that Smith managed to win an IPL trophy with MI, but with CSK, he couldn’t get the winners’ medal. He was a part of the CSK XI which played the final of IPL 2015, but CSK couldn’t lift the trophy that year.

#3 Ambati Rayudu

Ambati Rayudu has not just played for both CSK and MI, but he has also won the IPL titles with both the teams. Rayudu was involved in the title winning campaigns of Mumbai Indians in IPL 2015 and 2017 and he then become the IPL winner with CSK as well in the very next year in 2018.

However, Rayudu’s highest score with the bat has come during his stint with CSK. He was not able to score a hundred playing for MI because he used to bat low down the order there. However, at CSK, Rayudu got the opportunity to open the innings and he registered a hundred to his name in IPL 2018.

#4 Harbhajan Singh

Harbhajan Singh is another player who has got the IPL winners’ medal with both CSK and MI. Although the legendary off spinner was not picked in CSK’s playing XI in the final match of IPL 2018, but he was still a part of the squad.

Harbhajan, at one stage, was the captain of the Mumbai Indians and under his captaincy, Mumbai won a Champions League title as well. However, his place in the CSK XI hasn’t been certain since he has joined in.

#5 Dwayne Bravo

It was really surprising that the Mumbai Indians let Dwayne Bravo go after IPL 2010 despite the fact that he was at the peak of his career at that stage and was one of the best all-rounders in the world. However, Mumbai’s loss was CSK’s gain as they signed Bravo straightaway and the veteran all-rounder remains a vital cog of CSK line-up till date.

Bravo has, so far, scored more than 1000 runs and has grabbed more than 100 wickets for CSK.


I write a bit on cricket and I am more interested in technical and tactical side of the game, rather than bravado.
Back to top button