“Should show the bowling speed” – Twitter reacts after left-arm quick Spencer Johnson bowls a fiery opening spell in BBL 12

Australia has always been a nation that has well and truly produced some of the greatest fast bowlers in history. The likes of Glenn McGrath, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Gillespie, Mitchell Starc and Dennis Lillee made a name for themselves in Australian cricket.

Among the popular names in the aforementioned list, Mitchell Starc is still making waves in international cricket. Starc is 32 years old and has some more years of cricket left in him but once he calls it quits from the sport, Australia will surely have a huge void to fill.

As things stand, Australia have fast-bowling options in the form of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff and Nathan Coulter-Nile.

For sure, Australian cricket will be blessed with more young fast-bowling options. It is also good to note that Australia have been grooming fast bowlers for the future.

Spencer Johnson bowls a fiery opening spell in BBL 12

Recently, a left-arm quick by the name of Spencer Johnson took the Big Bash League by storm by bowling a fiery opening spell in the match against Perth Scorchers.

For the record, the 27-year-old made his debut in the Big Bash League only in the 2022–23 season on 11 January 2023, for the Brisbane Heat franchise and it didn’t take him much time to impress everyone in the cricket fraternity.

Even the commentators were taken aback by the fast bowler’s variation and action. The left-arm quick didn’t concede any run in the first four deliveries before bowling a wide ball and then conceding 2 doubles.

Even Australia’s bowling great Brett Lee was very much impressed by Johnson’s fiery opening spell against Perth Scorchers. Overall, he bowled 3.2 overs wherein he conceded 22 runs and maintained an economy of 6.60.

For the unversed, he represents South Australia in Australian first-class cricket. The 27-year-old made his debut against Victoria in the year 2017 and was rewarded with a rookie contract by South Australia in the 2017-18 domestic season.

Back to top button