“The greatest Test player in Indian Test cricket history returns!”, Twitter happy about Ajinkya Rahane’s inclusion in India’s WTC Final squad

India announce their WTC final squad against Australia

India’s WTC final squad: After much anticipation about the ones who will be heading to Oval for the hallowed WTC final that will be played between India and Australia, the BCCI announced the Indian squad that will be travelling to England post IPL in order to duke it out in that one-off Test match which is being touted as the summit clash to seal the fate of the championship.

The game will be played out in Oval from June 7th to 11th as the Men in Blue will be hoping to make amends after finishing as the runners-up of the preceding edition of the Championship. In a surprise inclusion, an in-form Ajinkya Rahane who was deemed to be out of the hunt was called back into the squad as Shreyas Iyer was injured.

In another forced exclusion, Jasprit Bumrah couldn’t make the cut for the WTC final either as Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami and Shardul Thakur will be shouldered with the onus of taking care of India’s pace unit.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Axar Patel will be leading India’s spin department against the formidable Australians. However, it would all boil down to India’s reckoning batting unit who would be led by Rohit Sharma followed by Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli as the two powerhouses of Test cricket.

The last time India collided with Australia, they finished the Test series on a high, securing a 2-1 win over the visitors as the final Test panned out to a draw. Twitter had its observations about India’s team that will be heading down to England.

Here is India’s WTC final squad for 2023 WTC final

India’s Test squad WTC final: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, K L Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

Back to top button