“Ishan Kishan dropped for KL Rahul wow what a justice?” – Twitter reacts as KL Rahul is picked as wicketkeeper ahead of in-form Ishan Kishan

Sri Lanka’s tour of India kick-started quite well with the T20I series on what promised to be an intriguing and entertaining one. Both teams took turns to outsmart the other in the first two games and thus making way for the dead rubber.

The Men in Blue were clinically better across all aspects of the game. As a result, they were able to produce a spark in clutch moments in the decider. They won the game and the series by 2-1. 

Meanwhile, the first of the three-match ODI series is being played on January 10 at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati, Assam. Sri Lankan skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Earlier, the likes of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and Shreyas Iyer were not part of the T20I series. They are now back in action the ODI series. It remains to be seen which team will go on to take the first lead in the series.

KL Rahul is picked as wicketkeeper ahead of in-form Ishan Kishan

Meanwhile, the selectors went with KL Rahul as the wicketkeeper-batsman for the ODI series opener ahead of in-form Ishan Kishan. Earlier, Ishan Kishan showcased his mettle by scoring the fastest-ever double century in the third ODI against Bangladesh in Chattogram.

Ishan Kishan drew plaudits with his masterful innings and also justified his selection right. The fans were also expecting him to get picked for the ODI series opener. However, the selection committee went with KL Rahul instead.

Meanwhile, the fans were literally not happy after the Indian selectors ignored Ishan Kishan for the first game. Netizens took to their respective social media handles and expressed their frustration.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis(w), Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dunith Wellalage, Kasun Rajitha, Dilshan Madushanka

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul(w), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Umran Malik, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Back to top button