CricketFeatureIPLIPL Records

Five teams to have hit the most sixes in IPL 2020

In T20s, six-hitting is a really important aspect of the game. As a batsman, if you play four dot balls and hit two sixes you still have scored 12 runs off an over which is a lot. It not only helps your team but it puts a lot of pressure on the opposite team if you can hit sixes. Experts keep talking about strike-rotation and taking singles and doubles but it is the big hits that will put pressure on the opposition than the singles and doubles. Six hitting will always lead to a big total which helps your bowlers defend them. So, let’s have a look at the five teams who hit the most sixes in this IPL season.

5. Kolkata Knight Riders – 86 sixes

Kolkata Knight Riders finished fifth on the points table and are fifth in six-hitting as well. With the likes of Dinesh Kartik, Eoin Morgan, and Andre Russell in the same team, we expect a lot more sixes from a team like Kolkata Knight Riders. Russell who hit more than 50 sixes in the last season managed to hit only nine in this season. Eoin Morgan hit the most number of sixes for KKR with 24 to his name. KKR will be hoping that they cross at least 100 sixes in the next s.eason.

4. Delhi Capitals – 88 sixes

With hard-hitters Rishabh Pant and Shimron Hetmyer in the team, you expect the Delhi Capitals to cross 100 sixes in the tournament. Both Pant and Hetmyer weren’t in great form which didn’t help Delhi Capitals as the others couldn’t really clear the fence at will. Marcus Stoinis and Shreyas Iyer were the two stand out six hitters for DC as they smashed 16 sixes. DC will be hoping that their power-hitters come to the fore in the next season.

3. Kings XI Punjab – 98 sixes

Chris Gayle came late into the team or else this number would have been well over 100. Gayle played only 7 games and he still smashed 23 sixes which is as many as KL Rahul in 14 games. Nicholas Pooran was the biggest positive for KXIP as he smashed 25 sixes. Glenn Maxwell was a major disappointment as he failed to hit even one six in this entire season. KXIP fans will be hoping that Gayle is fit for the next season so that he can double the number of sixes he hit in this season.

2. Rajasthan Royals – 105 sixes

Rajasthan Royals started the tournament with just sixes as they played their first two games at Sharjah when the pitch was a belter to bat on. Sanju Samson for the majority of the tournament was first in the most sixes list but in the end, Ishan Kishan went past him. Samson and Tewatia were the main guys for RR well supported by Jos Buttler. Tewatia was the entertainer of this season as he smashed Sheldon Cottrell for five sixes in an over.

1. Mumbai Indians – 137 sixes

Mumbai Indians were at a different level when it came to six-hitting. In a team that had Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya, most sixes were hit by the youngster Ishan Kishan with 29 sixes to his name. Four MI players crossed 20 sixes in the tournament and Rohit Sharma was just one short with 19. MI just dominated this season in every possible way and six-hitting was one of the aspects they dominated.

Shubham K

I am currently studying Computer Engineering at SVNIT Surat. I am a big cricket fan and like writing about Cricket.
Back to top button