“Fine! I am going to do it myself”, Twitter reacts on David Warner’s wicket against Afghanistan in the T20 World Cup 2022

Spectators are often impressed when bowlers use their skills to beat the batters in Twenty20 matches, a format in which batters typically dominate bowlers. One of the best hitters in the format, David Warner, fell into Naveen-ul-Haq’s trap.

The Aussies came out swinging on Friday against Afghanistan at Adelaide Oval, knowing well that only a resounding victory would guarantee their advancement to the T20 World Cup semi-finals whatever the results of the other matches.

They were 49/1 after five overs, with David Warner and Mitchell Marsh still in the middle for the reigning champions. After Warner’s removal, however, they began to fall apart.

Warner, who has yet to make a substantial score in the competition, looked threatening at the crease, scoring 25 runs off 17 balls. On the field, his run-scoring pace and effort demonstrated his sense of urgency. However, Afghanistan sprang a trap on the 36-year-old in the sixth over. Naveen-ul-Haq instructed Mohammad Nabi that both fielders may stay at the leg side despite being outside the 30-yard circle.

Warner’s switch-hitting strategy was prompted by the fielding setup. However, Naveen-ul-Haq, who is widely regarded as one of the format’s experts owing to his extensive, consistent success in the franchise leagues, had different ideas. The Afghan pacer delivered an off-cutter that was slower but still pitched well in the stumps. Warner, who had no notion how to time the ball, was hit hard and knocked out by its modest pace of 100 kph.

When Warner was out, Naveen gazed at him for a while, maybe believing it was all part of a master scheme to get rid of the Australian team’s opener.

Australia’s playing XI

Cameron Green, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Afghanistan’s playing XI

Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Usman Ghani, Ibrahim Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Darwish Rasooli, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (c), Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Twitter Reacts:

Back to top button