6 Players to score a century in World Cup finals

The ICC Cricket World Cup, since its start in the year 1975, has seen some of the most talented cricket players from all over the world take part, and take the world of the sport by storm, putting forth the displays of some of the most iconic performances of all time. So, here we will have a look at the names of the 6 players to score a century in the World Cup Finals.

1. Clive Lloyd (West Indies)

One of the most iconic cricket players of his time, Clive Lloyd played cricket for the West Indies at a time when the side literally dominated the world of cricket. And his contributions played a big role in the Windies attaining this status of the world dominators.

Amongst all of his great knocks that would be remembered in the world of cricket for years, the one that stands out, came in the 1975 Cricket World Cup, against the Australian cricket team. In that game, Lloyd scored 102 runs off 88 balls, not only saving a crumbling batting lineup of his side but also helping them get to a score that set them up for a 17-run win in the game. This knock by Lloyd helped him find his way into another piece of cricketing literature, that is this list of the players to score a century in World Cup Finals.

2. Viv Richards (West Indies)

After West Indies’ prolific win in the very first edition of the Cricket World Cup, which was fueled by a century by Clive Lloyd, it was time for another cricketing history being written, by another West Indian batsman who turned out to be Viv Richards, in the Cricket World Cup of 1979.

Probably inspired by Clive Lloyd’s efforts in the previous tournament final, Viv Richards when set foot on the field, looked to be in sublime form, and that coupled with a captaincy masterstroke meant that the cricket fans were in for a treat. In that game against the England Cricket Team, he made an unbeaten 138 runs, facing 157 balls, hitting 11 fours and 3 sixes in the process, becoming a part of the list of players to score a century in the World Cup Finals.

3. Aravinda de Silva (Sri Lanka)

The Sri Lankan cricket team, looked to be in a spot of bother in the 1996 World Cup Finals, chasing the total set by the Australian cricket team, until Aravinda de Silva came in and took the matter into his own hands.

Being the stroke maker that he was, he made sure that he scripted a beautiful story as the Sri Lankan cricket team cruised to a tournament win. Joining Viv Richards and Clive Lloyd in the list of players to score a century in the World Cup Finals, he played a match-winning and Man of the Match worthy knock of 107 runs off 124 balls, including a staggering number of 13 fours.

4. Ricky Ponting (Australia)

Who can forget the win streak that Australia maintained in World Cups, starting from the 1990s to the late 2000s? And the hero of one of Australia’s winning campaigns in the tournament in the year 2003, Ricky Ponting.

Captaining the Australian cricket team, against an in-form Indian team in the finals of the tournament, Ponting rose to the occasion for his team when it mattered the most. In that game, he scored 140 runs off 121 deliveries, helping the Aussies set a score of 359 runs, which in the end proved to be too steep for the Indian batting lineup to chase, which at the time was heavily reliant on the exploits of a handful of batsmen. This knock by Ponting not only earned him the Man of the Match award, but also a place amongst the few players to score a century in the World Cup Finals.

5. Adam Gilchrist (Australia)

The Australian cricket team coming into the 2007 World Cup had been on a roll, winning not only the previous two editions of the tournament but also winning matches against every team, everywhere in the world they went to. And, on the day of the finals, it was about who will be one becoming the hero of Australia’s historic win in the World Cups. And, as history has it, it was Adam Gilchrist who scored a century, helping his team a win and securing his place in the list of players to score a century in the World Cup Finals.

Opening the batting for his team against the Sri Lankan cricket team, Gilchrist took charge right from the start and continued thrashing the Sri Lankan bowlers all over the park before being dismissed after facing 104 balls and contributing 149 runs to the Australian total of 281 runs. A collective effort from the Sri Lankan batsman failed to win them the game as Australia won the game.

6. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)

The second entrant from the island nation in this list of players to score a century in the World Cup Finals, Mahela Jayawardene, also happens to be the one having the toughest luck of all listed here, as his team, in spite of his best efforts went on to lose the game to the Indian cricket team, in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

After the team’s captain, Kumar Sangakkara won the toss and chose to bat first, Sri Lanka managed to get to a good start. But, the majority of the burden of taking the Sri Lankan total forward rested on the shoulders of Mahela Jayawardene, and he did not disappoint. He scored 103 runs not out, pushing the Sri Lankan total of 274 runs. But, as history has it, the Indian team chased down the total, handing Jayawardene and the team nothing but disappointment.

Back to top button