5 Biggest Wins in the history of IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is by far the most followed league in the world, for international stars from different countries play under one roof. The nail-biting affairs which take place as a result of fierce competition between the franchises is another reason for the increase in viewership every year. Fans eagerly wait to witness two months of intense drama and action, taking the thrill and exhilaration to another level. While this is one part of the story, there too lies another part where one side dominated the other completely and made it a one-sided affair. Naturally, the margin of victory was a gargantuan one, going down in the history as the biggest of all. In the below piece, we look at 5 biggest wins in IPL history:

1. MI’s win over DC by 146 runs

This biggest win came during the 45th game at Delhi in IPL 2017. Put into bat first, MI posted a massive total of 212-3 in their 20 overs, on the back of attacking innings of 66(43) by Simmons and 63(35) by Pollard. Hardik too chip in with a quickfire 29(14).

The home team, unfortunately, had no answers to the batting display from MI, getting bowled out for a mere score of 66 in 13.4 overs and handing the opposition a win by an enormous margin of 146 runs. For MI, the spin twins, Harbhajan and Karn were the pick of the bowlers, finishing with spells of 3-22 and 3-11 respectively.

2. RCB’s win over GL by 144 runs

The second biggest of all, this victory came during the 44th game at Bengaluru in IPL 2016. Batting first, RCB piled up a mountain of runs on the board, posting 248-3 in their 20 overs, courtesy centuries by Kohli and de Villiers, who smacked 109(55) and 129(52) respectively.

The target was a huge one for Gujarat to chase and as expected, they were bundled out for 104 in 18.4 overs, losing the game comfortably by 144 runs. Englishman Jordan was mighty impressive with the ball in hand, ending the game with figures of 4-11.

3. KKR’s win over RCB by 140 runs

It came during the 1st game at Bengaluru in IPL 2008. KKR, who were batting first, inflicted an uncontrollable onslaught, courtesy McCullum’s blitzkrieg knock of 158(73) and reached 222-3 at the end of 20 overs.

With it being just the inaugural game, RCB were left shell-shocked by the effort, who couldn’t recover from it, getting skittled out for 82 in 15.1 overs and losing the contest by a colossal margin of 140 runs. Pacer Agarkar was the leader of the bowling attack for KKR, scalping 3-25.

4. RCB’s win over PK by 138 runs

The fourth biggest in the list, this win came during the 40th game at Bengaluru in IPL 2015. Put into bat first, RCB posted a grand total of 226-3 in their 20 overs, owing to an extraordinary century by Gayle, who scored 117(57) and de Villiers, who stroked 47(24).

The Kings, who were rattled by this mighty effort from the Bangalore-based outfit, could manage just 88 in 13.4 overs, going down in the contest by 138 runs. Seamers, Starc and Aravind did a majority of the damage for RCB, snapping up 4-15 and 4-27 respectively.

5. RCB’s win over PWI by 130 runs

This fifth-biggest victory came during the 31st match at Bengaluru in IPL 2013. RCB, who were batting first, piled on plenty of runs on the board, smashing 263-5 in their 20 overs, courtesy of mind-boggling innings of 175(66) by Gayle.

It was an uphill task for the Pune side to chase it down and as anticipated, they could only reach 133-9, losing the encounter by 130 runs. Yet again, it was Gayle but this time with his off-spin, picking up 2-5 and rounding off the game perfectly for him. This game stands out to be one of the interesting IPL wins triumphed by RCB

Back to top button