CricketT20 Cricket

2022 WT20 Ticket booking opens now: How to book tickets?

The mega event is set to take place from October 16 to November 13.

The 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup is set to get underway on Sunday, October 16 and the excitement is already at its zenith 10 months prior to its start. Sri Lanka and Namibia are set to face each other in the tournament’s opening match at the Simonds Stadium in Geelong.

On the same day at the same venue, two qualifiers will also lock horns. The final of the World Cup is set to take place on Sunday, November 13 at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground. Amidst all the excitement, the ticket sales of all the 45 matches for the mega event opened on Tuesday, February 1.

The tickets will be on a first-come-first-serve basis and are expected to be in high demand. 16 teams will take part in the T20 World Cup in Australia and 12 of them have already sealed their berth for the championship.

T20 World Cup Qualifiers to take place in February and July

To decide the remaining four teams, two sets of qualifying rounds will take place. Oman is set to host the Qualifier A from Friday, February 18 to Thursday, February 24. Bahrain, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Nepal, Philippines, and United Arab Emirates (UAE) are the seven participating teams in the tournament.

The Men’s T20 World Cup Qualifier B will take place from July 11 to 17, 2022 in Harare. Hosts Zimbabwe, Hong Kong, Jersey, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, Uganda, the United States of America (USA) will be taking part in the event.

“70 teams started the qualification process for this event, and we’ve now reached the final stages with four spots at the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 set to be decided in two global qualifiers starting with this one in Oman,” ICC Head of Events, Chris Tetley was quoted as saying.

Australia, led by Aaron Finch, are the defending champions of the T20 World Cup after they won the title in 2021. The Aussies beat the Kane Williamson-led New Zealand in the final to secure their maiden triumph in the tournament since its inception back in 2007.


Back to top button